In The Words of Deana Carter, “Did I Shave My Legs For This?”

I have previously reported on the hidden job market and how 85% of all jobs are never posted.  So what about the jobs we see posted every day in newspapers or on the internet?  What’s the deal with them?  There may be a variety of reasons why companies post jobs.

Many companies are required to post jobs whether a candidate is already selected for the position or not.  A staffing agency informed me that they will advertise for a position to get a pool of candidates to have on hand in the event they are approached by a company seeking someone for that particular position.  I have personally witnessed a two-day long interviewing event in which the hiring committee had already decided who would be hired before the first applicant walked through the door.   

I don’t mean to discourage you from applying for jobs that are posted.  After all, the job I had been holding for nearly two years was one I found in the newspaper.  I just want you to be aware that if only 15% of jobs are found that way, then maybe you should keep that in mind during your job search and divide your time in an equal fashion.  Don’t spend 100% of your time applying for only 15% of jobs. 

I recently found myself applying and interviewing for a posted job.  I heard through the grapevine that the job was going to an employee who was already working in the department.  Much like with any gossip, I took it with a grain of salt.  When I walked in for the interview and found out the interviews had been scheduled 15 minutes apart, I was beginning to think there may have been something to the rumor I had heard.  In all of my years interviewing and being interviewed, I have never had such a short amount of time to assess whether or not someone was an ideal candidate.      

The truth is, we will probably not know if a job was intended for a specific person or not.  We can only carry on and play the game, hoping that eventually it will pay off for us in the end.  I guess the worst that will happen is that we will get some interviewing and cover letter writing practice, right?  Never-the-less, it will inevitably leave us disappointed at some point thinking in the words of Deana Carter, “Did I Shave My Legs for This?”  The answer will be….”Unfortunately”!

Picture by Opensourceway

About introspectivereflection

Blogger, Social Media Enthusiast, Career Development Professional, Creative Free Spirit
This entry was posted in Applying, Hidden Job Market, Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment